top of page
Search

Bastien Champay - Norway

Here in Norway, there are actually not many sports to choose from. The most popular sports in Norway are football, handball and skiing. There are also other sports but they aren’t as popular and practiced. In these less practiced sports, we can find basketball, bow shooting and orientation.


Football

Norway is composed of eleven counties and every team plays in one of the eleven counties. Football in Norway is controlled by the NFF (Norges Fotballforbund) which stands for, Norwegian Football Federation. They are in charge of the teams, matches and referees. I was myself a player, but I quit a few weeks ago and I am now a referee.


Handball

Handball is by far the most practiced sport in Norway as it can be played the whole year instead of five months (on snow) for skiing. Here in Norway the most normal is to start handball very young and then continue. I have never played handball before so I don’t know very much about it.


Skiing

Skiing is of course one of the most practiced sports in Norway. It’s not only practiced in clubs, but also by everyone generally. Some prefer alpine skiing while others prefer normal skiing. I used to go skiing a little bit every year, but it’s not what I enjoy the most.

- Bastien Champay - Norway



bottom of page